Join me Back on Pangaea

Pangaea 2 CoverI enjoy worldbuilding. It probably has to do with growing up with the words “to seek new life forms and new civilizations…:” rattling in my head with great regularity.I loved playing with the DC Universe characters, helping reshape the universe in the wake of Crisis on Infinite Earths. I adored collaborating to craft new worlds to set stories when Peter David, Michael Jan Friedman and I collaborated on several Star Trek novels (one with estimable Carmen Carter). We clicked so well, it was a breeze to tackle Gary Whitta’s script for After Earth and blow it up into a transmedia universe.Paul Kupperberg, Aaron Rosenberg, and I meshed well as we set up the parameters for our ReDeus universe and then sat back to see what our friends could do with a brand new sandbox.Last year, it was my turn to dip a toe into someone else’s new sandbox. In this case, Mike Friedman’s one continent world of Pangaea. After all, human nature is human nature and would not be all that different regardless of the topography. As a result, a story presented itself and I had some fun working in, what turned out to be, an isolated corner of that world.Pangaea Cover V2 (Large)The anthology, debuting as Crazy 8 Press’ third anniversary celebration, seemed to perform well, garnering some very nice comments. Encouraged, Mike decided we’d revisit the world, exploring what happened next after a global threat reared its head.As the snows fell, the Kickstarter campaign for Pangaea II: The Rise of Dominjaron launched over the weekend. Between now and February 25, we’re trying to raise $8000 so the fifteen authors involved can write new stories. Just days after going live, I’m thrilled to see we’re already 35% of the way there.  I have a good feeling we’ll make it.O keep things fresh, we have some newcomers this time around, which will be cool. The complete lineup includes returnees Michael A. Burstein, Peter David, Kevin Dilmore, Mike Friedman, Glenn Hauman, Paul Kupperberg, Kelly Meding, Aaron Rosenberg, Lawrence M. Schoen, Geoffrey Thorne, and me; along with newbies Ron Marz, Ilsa J. Bick, Kirsten Beyer, and Marie Lillian Vibbert.Last time around, I offered two Tuckerizations and one was purchased by a good friend and one by someone I was totally unfamiliar with. So, I’m offering two more this time around and last time I looked, they were still available.As for the story, I’m using my protagonist, Arlo, but he’s going to be encountering characters from other stories and be a little more centrally involved. Lawrence Schoen made some invaluable suggestions and I am actively bouncing notions off Mike and Michael A. Burstein so I’m getting excited.https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1881107045/pangaea-ii?ref=nav_searchCheck out the video and campaign and considering coming for a visit. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started